Secretariat of the Pacific Community

In 1947, the South Pacific Commission was formed between Australia, New Zealand, France, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and the United States under the Canberra Agreement. The aim of the Commission was to bring stability to a region that had been rocked by the Second World War and to assist one another in the governance of dependent territories in the Pacific. Today, the Pacific Community has 26 members. These include four of the original founding members (Australia, New Zealand, France and the U.S.) as well as 22 Pacific Island nations and territories. SPC works on diverse topics including economic development, land use, education and climate change. SPC

Open Webpage

Contact Information

Contact Email

+687 26 20 00

Contact Phone




Nouméa, NC