Department of Political Science, University of Copenhagen

During the last ten years the Department of Political Science has developed into a large and well-functioning department at the University of Copenhagen with approximately 1500 students, and 300 exchange and guest students from abroad visiting every year. The number of applicants to the degree programmes is extremely high, and this has led to a situation in which the average grades required from high school are among the highest in Denmark. The faculty consists of approximately 50 professors, associate professors and assistant professors. Moreover, the department has about 30 enrolled doctoral students. There are 20 administrators. The Department of Political Science was founded in 1960 but at that time it was called the Department of Contemporary History and Political Science. From 1965 the first cohort of MA students enrolled in the department. From 1991 graduates were awarded the title of cand. scient. pol. (MSc in Political Science). Thus the department offers both an undergraduate degree (BSc in Political Science) and a postgraduate degree (MSc in Political Science). Currently the department is working towards an extension of degree programmes, in particular English-taught MSc courses. The graduates of this department are in high demand and they obtain attractive jobs in public administration and in the private sector. The research produced by the faculty has reached a high international level. University of Copenhagen

Open Webpage

Contact Information

Contact Email

+45 35 32 33 66

Contact Phone



Øster Farimagsgade 5

Copenhagen, DK